VPN-Cheap

Grade D+

Tap a star to rate

A one-page budget VPN with a free tier

VPN-Cheap sells a consumer VPN on price. Its homepage, which carries almost everything the site says about the service, leads with a free plan and two paid plans, and its footer line reads "Affordable Online Security with VPN Cheap". The VPN is the only product on offer. The site does not name the company behind it: the footer says only "©2026 vpn-cheap", and there is no address, company name or registration detail anywhere on the homepage. The site does not say where the company is based.

Who can buy it: prices are shown in US dollars, and the site does not list any country where it does or does not sell. Accounts can be created on the site, including with a "Start with Google" sign-in. The download menu lists Android, iOS, macOS, Windows and Linux, with "Coming soon" labels; the download section further down the page shows 3 download buttons and 2 marked "Coming soon", and read in order that suggests Android, iOS and macOS are available while Windows and Linux are not yet. The site does not name the app stores or say whether the mobile apps are downloaded through Google Play and the App Store or directly. Payment methods are not listed; the page says only that payment information "is protected by 256-bit SSL". There is no mention of cryptocurrency or other anonymous payment options.

What the site says about logs, and what it leaves out

The provider states it runs a "strict no-logs policy". The FAQ says online activity "is never tracked or stored", and the features section says the service does not track or store browsing data and lists "No Activity Tracking", "No Data Storage" and "Complete Privacy". Elsewhere the homepage says, "We don't track your activity or share your data with third parties, even if you're on the Free plan. It's simply not our business." These are the provider's claims. The site does not name an independent audit of its logging policy, and it does not describe what connection data, if any, is kept to run the free plan's device limits or the paid trials. A privacy policy is linked in the footer, but the homepage itself gives no detail on retention.

One oddity in the page copy: the card headed "No-Logs Policy" in the Why VPN-Cheap section repeats the text about unlimited bandwidth, and the "Unlimited Devices" card repeats the text about prices, so neither card says what its heading promises. The homepage also shows a "4.7 /5" rating without naming where it comes from.

There is no information on ownership or jurisdiction to weigh. With no company named, a buyer cannot tell which country's law applies to the service or who would answer a legal request.

Servers, protocols and speed claims

The paid plans list "50+ global locations", while the features section lists "Servers in 35+ Countries", naming the United States and United Kingdom as top locations and noting free servers are available. The site does not list the countries or cities. Protocols are OpenVPN and WireGuard, and encryption is listed as AES-256 and ChaCha20, which the page describes as "military-grade encryption". The homepage says the "10 Gbps server network increases your VPN speeds by up to 400% without compromising stability or security", but it gives no measurement method or baseline for that figure, so it stays a marketing claim.

Other features are named rather than described. Unlimited bandwidth is promised on the service. The paid plans list unlimited connected devices, and the FAQ says one account can be used on several devices at the same time. The site does not mention a kill switch, split tunneling, DNS leak protection or ad blocking. It mentions streaming only in general terms ("streaming, browsing, or securing your data") and names no streaming services, and it does not address torrenting.

Plans, trials and the 12-month price

The homepage shows 3 plans:

  • Free at $0.00, with no credit card required, limited to 3 free locations, "Medium VPN Speed" and limited connected devices.
  • 12 months plus 2 extra months, labeled "Save 33%", at $1.99 per month. The card shows both $35.88 and $23.88 next to "every 12 months", which reads as a crossed-out list price and the amount billed, though the page does not say so in words. It includes a free 14-day trial.
  • 1 month at $2.99 per month, billed $2.99 every month, with a free 7-day trial.

Both paid plans list 50+ locations, "Highest VPN speed" and unlimited devices. The site does not state what the 12-month plan renews at, or whether the 2 extra months and the lower rate apply after the first term. A 14-day money-back guarantee is offered, described as "no questions asked". A referral program gives an extra 30 days free for every friend who buys a subscription through a user's link.

How the free plan is paid for is not explained. The site does not mention ads on the free tier, and it does not link the free plan to data use; its only statement on the question is the line that tracking is "simply not our business". Support is described as live, 24-hour help by live chat or email.

What the site does not settle, and who it suits

Several things a buyer would want to know are missing. The site does not name the company behind the service or where it is based. The no-logs claim rests on the provider's word alone. The renewal price after the first 12 months is not stated, the 12-month card shows two billed figures without explanation, the network is described only as 50+ locations in 35+ countries, with no list, and the free plan's device limit is described only as "limited". Windows and Linux apps appear to be still to come. Payment methods are not listed.

VPN-Cheap suits someone who wants to try a VPN at no cost on a phone or Mac, or who wants a low monthly price with unlimited devices and a trial before paying. It is a weaker fit for Windows or Linux users, for anyone who needs to know who runs the service before trusting it with their traffic, and for buyers who want the renewal price in writing.

More in Free and Budget VPNs

See all