ESET
Tap a star to rate
A VPN inside an antivirus maker's home plans
ESET is a security software company, and the VPN is one feature among many in its home plans rather than a product of its own. The homepage sells three home tiers, Essential, Premium and Ultimate, and describes the VPN as "Unlimited VPN" with the line "Shield your connection and prevent unwanted tracking" and a promise of "unlimited bandwidth for endless access to your favorite online content." Next to it sits "VPN for Router", which the page says "Protects every device on your home network with one setup" and encrypts all traffic with "no need to install apps on each device." That router option is why ESET belongs in a list of VPNs for routers and many devices. The rest of each plan is antivirus, a firewall, safe banking, file encryption, ransomware recovery and, higher up, identity monitoring.
Who can buy it: the homepage is ESET's United States edition, labeled "United States (EN)", and it sells online through an "Add to Cart" button with a device selector and yearly terms. The about page says ESET covers 178 countries and territories. The contact page lists regional offices for North America in San Diego, for Latin America in Buenos Aires, for Europe, the Middle East and Africa in Bratislava, and for Asia Pacific in Singapore, and it says home products can also be bought through an ESET sales representative by phone. The only payment method it names is the credit card, in a line about "assistance with credit card payments". Several identity features are clearly aimed at US buyers, such as SSN tracking and credit reports "from 1 bureau". The site does not list app stores for the VPN, show prices in any currency, or say whether the VPN feature is sold the same way in other countries.
What the site says about logging, ownership and audits
The site does not name an independent audit of its VPN or of its logging policy, and it publishes no logging statement for the VPN at all. Neither the homepage nor the about, contact and newsroom pages say what the VPN records, whether connection times or IP addresses are kept, or for how long. The footer links a privacy page, but the site does not summarize what it says about the VPN. The ratings the homepage does show belong to ESET as a whole: 4.6 from Gartner Peer Insights, 8.9 from TrustRadius, 4.7 from Capterra, 4.6 from G2 and 4.3 from Trustpilot, all labeled as customer satisfaction scores, and a claim of "100+ consecutive VB100 awards" for its malware protection. None of that says anything about the VPN.
On ownership, the footer reads "© 2008-2026 ESET North America" and says the trademarks belong to "ESET spol. s r.o. or ESET North America." The contact page gives ESET, LLC at 655 West Broadway in San Diego as the North American office and ESET, spol. s r.o. at Einsteinova 24, Bratislava, Slovak Republic, as the office for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, with ESET ASIA PTE LTD in Singapore for Asia Pacific. The about page names Richard Marko as CEO. The site does not say which of these companies runs the VPN service, where the VPN servers are, or whether ESET operates the VPN network itself or buys it from another provider.
What the VPN includes on each plan
The VPN detail is in the plan cards. Premium, described as "Elevate your protection with unlimited VPN traffic", says "Access up to 40 countries, each with multiple server locations." Ultimate, described as "Top security with VPN, VPN for Router, Identity Protection & Ransomware Remediation", says "Access approximately 70 countries, each with multiple server locations." The number of VPN devices depends on the plan and on how many devices the subscription covers:
- Ultimate, for more than 10 devices: up to 25 VPN devices.
- Ultimate, for up to 10 devices: up to 10 VPN devices.
- Premium, for more than 10 devices: up to 5 VPN devices.
- Premium, for up to 10 devices: up to 3 VPN devices.
So the VPN device count is not the same as the security license count, a detail a buyer could easily miss. The Essential plan's own description mentions antivirus, payment protection, anti-phishing and Wi-Fi protection, not a VPN. The feature lists under all three cards repeat the same VPN and VPN for Router lines, so the page does not make clear whether Essential includes any VPN; its VPN device table names only Premium and Ultimate, and the Ultimate description names VPN for Router outright. The page does not say which routers are supported or how the router setup counts against the device limit.
Beyond that, the site is silent on the VPN's workings. It names no protocol, no server count, no kill switch, split tunneling or multihop feature, and no apps by platform, although the security suite itself is "Available also for macOS" and the footer lists Android Security. It says nothing about torrenting, and the only streaming mention is the router feature's "safer browsing, streaming, and smart home use." It makes no claim about getting past censorship.
Buying, terms and support
The homepage shows a device picker of 1 to 10 devices for Essential and Premium, and 5 to 10 for Ultimate, each sold by the year, with a "SAVE 15% OFF" badge on home security. No price appears on the page. The pricing note says "Price valid for the first term only," that any savings shown is measured against "the official list price", and that ESET "will always send you a notification email in advance" of a price change. The renewal price itself is not stated. The customer area has links to renew, manage autorenewal and increase the device limit, and the footer offers a free trial download, student and hero discounts and a "subscription flexibility" page. The contact page links a return policy, but the site does not spell out the refund window.
Support for home and business products is run, in the contact page's words, by "Our San Diego-based team", through live chat, email and a toll-free number. The listed hours are 6:00am to 5pm Pacific Time, Monday to Friday. The identity recovery service in Ultimate is separate and is described as available 24/7.
What the site leaves open, and who it suits
For a VPN buyer the gaps are large. There is no logging policy for the VPN, no audit, no protocol list, no server count beyond the 40 and approximately 70 country figures, and no statement of who runs the network. Prices are not on the page, and the renewal price is not stated. The two-level device rule, 3 or 5 VPN devices on Premium and 10 or 25 on Ultimate, is easy to misread, and the site does not say whether the router counts as one of them.
ESET suits a household that already wants a full antivirus and identity suite and would like a VPN and router-level protection included, especially a US household that will use the identity monitoring. It suits less well someone shopping for the VPN alone, or anyone who needs a written no-logs policy, a named server network and an app list before choosing a VPN.