OVPN

Grade C

Tap a star to rate

A small, self-hosted VPN sold in three currencies

OVPN is a VPN service whose homepage states that "the company running OVPN is incorporated in US and is named OVPN Inc." Its about page says it was "officially launched in the summer of 2014" in response to escalating internet surveillance. The consumer VPN is the main product, with an OVPN for Teams offering for businesses alongside it, and the homepage credits OVPN with developing the Vilfo router in a customer review it displays. On who can buy it: the site's footer offers prices in EUR, SEK and USD, and the pricing page shows euros by default. The teams page lists payment by "credit cards, wire transfers or any of our other supported methods" without naming the others. The download menu lists Windows, Android, iOS, Ubuntu, macOS, openSUSE and Fedora, the footer adds guides for Debian and Synology NAS, and the site is available in English, Swedish, German and Norwegian. The site does not say which app stores carry the mobile apps or name any country where the service is unavailable, beyond the homepage's line that it offers "secure internet without country or streaming restrictions."

The court case, the hardware, and no named audit

OVPN's trust case rests on two things it describes itself, and the site does not name an independent audit of its logging policy. The first is a legal fight. The homepage says OVPN "has been in court fighting a two-month-long information injunction as user information was requested from us" and that it "emerged victorious due to our no-logging policy." It adds that it has insurance that covers legal fees and that OVPN "has never given any information about our customers to a third party." The site does not name the court, the year or the party that sought the data, so the case is known here only through the provider's own summary.

The second is how the network is built. The provider states that all the hardware used to run OVPN is owned by the company, and the teams page adds that it is "owned & co-located by us." The homepage says: "No rented servers, no virtual machines. Just pure bare-metal VPN servers." All VPN servers, the provider says, run without hard drives, with the operating system held only in RAM, and the FAQ adds that the servers run without USB devices or CDs, so "there's no media connected to the server where logs can be stored."

The logging claim itself is the provider's: the FAQ says "we guarantee that no logs are stored on our servers", and the about page says the diskless setup is there "to guarantee that nothing is logged or stored." The homepage says monthly transparency reports detailing server statistics and information requests have been published since 2014. The FAQ describes static analysis of the website's source code and a reward for responsibly disclosed vulnerabilities, which is a security practice rather than a review of the logging policy. Beyond the OVPN Inc. name and the US incorporation, the site does not name the owners or say where the team works.

Protocols, network and features

OVPN supports OpenVPN and WireGuard. The FAQ states that OpenVPN uses AES-256-GCM "behind a 2048-bit Diffie-Hellman key", and WireGuard uses Curve25519 and ChaCha20. The company runs its own DNS servers, which it describes as log-free, to prevent DNS leaks, and it offers DNS and WebRTC leak tests on the site.

The homepage lists VPN servers in 32 cities: Vienna, Sydney, Toronto, Zurich, Erfurt, Frankfurt, Offenbach, Copenhagen, Madrid, Helsinki, Paris, London, Milan, Tokyo, Amsterdam, Oslo, Warsaw, Bucharest, Gothenburg, Malmö, Stockholm, Sundsvall, Singapore, Kyiv, and the US cities of Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Los Angeles, Miami, New York and Seattle. The site frames the short list as a choice, saying it prioritizes "quality and security over quantity and marketing." It says it has thousands of IPv4 addresses and supports IPv6 natively.

Port forwarding is a real feature here. The FAQ says customers can open up to 7 ports, TCP, UDP or both, in the range 49152 to 65535; a lower port needs the Public IPv4 add-on, which replaces the shared address with a static public one. Multihop routes traffic through two VPN servers. The homepage calls Multihop and Public IPv4 add-ons, while the pricing page lists "Multihop included at no cost" in every plan, so the pages disagree on that point. Router support covers AsusWrt, DD-WRT, OpenWrt, Tomato and EdgeOS firmware, plus Vilfo and GL.iNet routers. Plans also block ads and trackers.

For streaming, the homepage names Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Disney+, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, HBO Max, Peacock TV and Channel 5, and says they work "on all servers in the supported regions" without saying which regions those are. That is the provider's claim with no testing date. The site does not state a torrenting policy.

Plans, devices and refunds

The pricing page ties the device limit to the plan length:

  • 1 month: 12 euros per month, 4 devices at a time.
  • 12 months: 4.99 euros per month, 5 devices at a time.
  • 36 months: 4.22 euros per month, 7 devices at a time, marked as a 75% saving.

Every plan lists the no-log policy, high-speed streaming, ad and tracker blocking, port forwarding and Multihop. The site shows the per-month figures but does not say how the longer plans are billed or what they renew at, and the pricing page mentions only that customers can "protect additional devices each year." Each plan carries a 10-day money-back guarantee. The pricing page shows no free plan.

Support, the homepage says, "consists of only L2 personnel", meaning experienced technicians rather than a first-line script, and it invites customers to send a difficult custom configuration question. The teams product adds centralized billing, user management and a single annual invoice, a Shared IP add-on that lets a team use one address as a gateway to company resources, and dedicated public IPv4 addresses for specific users.

What the site leaves open, and who it suits

The gaps are specific. There is no named audit of the logging policy, and the court case is described without a date, court or case detail. The renewal price and the billing basis of the 12-month and 36-month plans are not stated, the payment list stops at credit cards and wire transfers, and the pages contradict each other on whether Multihop costs extra. The streaming list carries no date, and torrenting is not addressed. Ownership stops at the company name and US incorporation.

What the site does say is concrete: owned, diskless hardware, a named city list, published port forwarding rules and a 10-day refund. OVPN suits readers who want a small, self-run network, port forwarding with stated limits, and native router support. It suits less well buyers who want a large country list, a device allowance above 7, or an outside audit they can read.

More in Privacy-First VPNs

See all